Wine And Weather Combine For Fantastic Stroll

Anita Campbell
County Reporter
Over 1,100 wine enthusiasts filled Warsaw’s Main Street for the Seventh Annual Benton County Wine Stroll on Saturday afternoon and evening.
“We were very excited about the excellent turnout,” said Benton County Foundation president Shannon Smith.  “After last year’s wet weekend, we were worried that people might not come back, but they did.  Our numbers were way up over last year’s count of 700.”
Visitors lined up at tents along Main Street to sample wines and other amenities such as kettle corn, cheese and crackers and barbeque.  In the past local merchants hosted the wineries inside but this year with the great weather, visitors milled around the street.
“With this many people, local shops were just unable to hold everyone,” said Smith. “However, many of the merchants were open for business while people enjoyed the wine.”
The Missouri wineries participating included:  7 c’s Winery, Acadian Moon Winery, Baltimore Bend, Casa DeLoco Winery, Golden Rock Winery, Leaky Roof Winery, Wildlife Ridge Winery, Adam Putcha Winery, Delaney Vineyard and Winery, Eichenberg Winery, Giggling Grapes Winery, Wenwood Farms Winery, Windy Wine Company, Red Fox Winery & Vineyards, Serenity Valley, Seven Springs Winery, Shawnee Bluff Winery, St. James Winery, Public House Brewing, Summit Lake Winery, Les Bourgeois Vineyards, Terre Beau Winery, and Welpman Brewing.
According to Board member Tracy Spry, 700 tickets to the event were sold on line, 200 tickets at her business and the rest were sold the day of the event.
“It was a fun event,” said Spry.  “Everyone seemed to be having a great time.”
Danny Button and Groove Pilots provided music throughout the evening.
The Benton County Wine Stroll is the main fund raising event for the Benton County Community Foundation.  The BCCF’s main goal is to establish endowed funds for the purpose of conducting a flexible community grant making program which addresses the most important needs of the community at any one time.
The Foundation will be accepting applications in September for grants to non-profit groups in Benton County.
Established in August of 1999, the BCCF’s Board of Governors include:  Shannon Smith, president; James Mahlon White, vice-president; Marsha Eaton, secretary; Tracey Martin Spry, Treasurer; Dorcas Brethower, Amanda Lutjen, Jeanie Gerken, Ethan Newman and Cheryl Petersen.